Sunday, August 3, 2008

Bay starts a fire....

Today Papi was being Jacoby, Dice K was being Becks and Mike was being Mike. I found out that Mike Lowell has bone spurs in his hip. YOWZA!! That has got to hurt. You know Mike tho... he is still there, grinding it out. Papi stole second base and got a laugh later when he started eyeing third. I heart Papi. Dice K is having an outstanding day, his pitch count is high but he looks better than I have seen him in a long time.

The girls at Fenway are already in love with Jason Bay. I'm enjoying reading all the "Bay" signs in the bleachers. I was blown away with the standing ovation the Nation gave Bay as he walked up for his first at bat. A standing ovation. Any way you cut it, the Fenway Faithful are a classy bunch. I can't help but wonder how he would have been received at Yankee Stadium. What if he had replace Jeter, for example. I'm thinking it would have been more of a Bronx cheer.

So the game goes into a rain delay with Varitek at bat... with a full count. Crap. That seems so unfair. At least the Red Sox are winning. It's 5-2. I remember sitting through a rain delay as a kid. A couple of the players took their cleats off and went out to have some fun sliding around on the tarp. They pantomimed pitching and hitting, stealing second head first and scoring the winning run. They were soaked through and having a ball. I remember every minute of that delay but couldn't tell you who won the game or what the score was. Huh, that was 30 years ago.... but, damn. Now I feel old.

Bay found out why the boys in red socks take off their batting helmet before returning to the dug out after a run. {I'm pretty sure there should be a comma someplace in that sentence}
"...you get pounded in the head pretty good. I took that thing off immediately when I got there," Bay said. "We just have a tendency to get people in the head when they don't take off their helmet," said catcher Jason Varitek.
Jed Lowrey might be an Athletics killer. In the first two games he went 4-7. The combination of Bay and Lowrey has worked out phenomenally well these last two games and it has continued today. Ells and Tek are climbing out of their slumps and Tito might move Jacoby back to the top of the order very soon.

Delay is over and we are back to soxball. Oki is in to relieve Dice K. Top of the seventh inning. Oki has really struggled this season. I sure hope he can figure out how to get the magic back. We really miss it. Btw.. the lady sitting behind home plate must be on her third ice cream cone. That or it's taking her forever to finish it. I'm really jonesing for some ice cream... see ya.

No comments: