Wednesday, August 27, 2008

The End Of The Evil Empire

History is not transferable. When the New York Yankees quit their stadium at the end of the season and move across the street, the history is gone with the "old" Yankee Stadium". Like they say, "You can't take it with you". The Yankees will have to start over. The "New" Yankee Stadium will not be the "House That Ruth Built"* It will not be where Roger Maris** hit 61 single season home runs. {That record still stands. McGuire and Bonds cheated when they used steroids}It will not be where the Yankees claimed umpteen World Series titles. All of that will be gone. It will be the 2009 Yankees in a new stadium with zero history or character. The Yankee myth and legend will be torn down with the old building. How sad. I'm surprised that it isn't going to be called Stienbrenner Stadium. How much did he pay to build it? Most of all, I feel sorry for Derek Jeter***. He should be allowed to retire in Yankee Stadium. I believe he deserves that, at least. He is getting ripped of. Who ever made {a mess out of }the 2008 schedule missed a beautiful opportunity. The last game in Yankee Stadium should have been against the Red Sox, not the Orioles. It started with the Red Sox on April 28th 1923, the first game ever played in Yankee Stadium. {we lost} It should have ended that way. I can't help but wonder if "someone" got nervous and decided it would not be good to lose to the Sox in their last game in the old place. The start of a curse? Forgive me but I'm a dyed in the womb Sox fan. I BELIEVE in curses. The Yankees may be cursed anyway. They have almost no hope at making it to the post season and that is what they will carry into the new building, and new season. I'm sure at some point next summer, when the Yankees find themselves in the cellar, the fans { for reasons I will never understand, boo their own team} will whisper CURSE. So it will begin.


In the mean time, the Sox take the first 2 of a 3 game stand for the last time at this stadium. The Yankees gave up early tonight. Sox slug away and stretch runs. Our future captain, {the 9 foot tall } Dustin Pedroia, hits a grand slam. {11-2 goodguys} The Yankee "faithful" head for the exit's in the 8th, like rats abandoning a sinking ship. The Sox fans loudly cheer for their boys. It feels like the Yankees gave up on the season, long ago. They are just going through the motions. Waiting for next year. This is not the way the last year at the stadium should be played. I bet their "legends" are very, very angry tonight. Even the overly biased announcers can think of very little to say about the Yankees that is positive. They have been forced to recognize the Sox as the superior team. Hell has actually frozen over.**** Turns out, it's a good thing. So in the end, the "evil empire" is no more. Those who sold out to the dark side, long for the light.***** The "good guys" win again. The Red Sox are Forever...






* Am I the only one that gets a kick out of the fact that a Red Sox player "built" Yankee stadium? The Babe was ours first. The Sox grow legends, the Yankees buy them.


** Roger Maris was born to wear Red Sox, he just got a rotten deal and ended up with the Yankees.


*** Also born to wear Red Sox. Too bad he ended up with the Yankees. He and Maris are proof that the Gods Of Baseball do indeed get drunk on occasion and make stupid bets. {See Kevin Millar.}


**** It's true! I called Joe Morgan, he says it's froze solid where he is and he's glad he didn't work the game tonight. He is pretty sure he couldn't think of something nice to say about the Red Sox to save his life.


***** Are you there Johnny? It's me, Jaid~

No comments: